You Deserve a Break

Meredith Bond
4 min readJan 28, 2024

We have all be hearing for years about the importance of taking breaks throughout the workday. There are dozens of apps to “help” you do so from timers to focus sessions to just plain-old turning off all notifications.

We are told to take a break every 20 minutes or so of work or five times a day or in between meetings. And, of course, there are all the health benefits of not sitting for so many hours on end, of getting up and moving, of clearing your mind so that you can re-focus more easily or be more creative when you get back to work.

All of this is sound advice backed by science, blah, blah, blah.

But what if you don’t have meetings? What if you don’t work in an office aside from the one you created in your home? How are independent writers and free­lancers supposed to heed all this advice? I have struggled with this for years — ever since I gave up my office job to go solo.

I’m the sort of person who can sit down at my desk or on the sofa where I sometimes work and not move for four, six, eight hours depending on hunger and the state of my bladder.

I hyper-focus, at times becoming so involved in my work that I literally won’t move anything but my hands and head for an hour. This is really unhealthy.

--

--

Meredith Bond

Award winning author, Meredith Bond's books straddle that beautiful line between historical romance and fantasy. Merry is also a writing coach and formatter.