Writing from the Outside In

Meredith Bond
3 min readSep 21, 2023

One way to plot or structure your novel

I’m in the plotting phase of my next book. Being a plotter I develop my characters and plan out a good number of my scenes before I even put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. Being a conscientious, professional writer and well as someone who teaches writing craft, I’ve studied a great number of story structures and how to create a story.

There is my favorite W Graph, the Three Act Structure, Four Act Structure, Save the Cat, and the Snowflake Method, just to name a few.

What I’ve realized as I plot my book is that while I do mostly use the W-Graph to plot out the structure of my book, in fact what I’m doing is plotting from the outside in or, if you prefer, from the biggest ideas (major turning points or beats of the plot) to the smallest (each individual scene).

The major turning points or beats of a novel are the Instigating Event, the First Major Turning Point, the Point of No Return or Climax, the Black Moment, and the Resolution. I make my W-graph by labeling those turning points at each of the sharp angles that create the W and I decide what needs to happen at each of those points.

Now, I could tell you generally what happens at each of those points in a romance novel or a mystery, but then I would just be perpetuating stereotypes of those genres…

--

--

Meredith Bond

Award winning author, Meredith Bond's books straddle that beautiful line between historical romance and fantasy. Merry is also a writing coach and formatter.